Maryland Library Association Annual Business Meeting May 6, 2022 Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Cambridge, Maryland 8:00 am - 9:00 am EST

Call to Order Mary Anne Bowman

- Mary Anne Bowman calls the meeting to order at 8:16am
- Thanks Megan Sutherland, Kelsey Hughes, and the conference team for a great conference
- Thanks Kate, Josh, and Sarah from the MLA office
- Thanks Eric Bodvin and Kristin Bodvin for all their help on the conference as well
- Thanks Ryan O'Grady for serving as interim director

Minutes of the 2021 Annual meeting

Conni Strittmatter

- Anita Crawford moves to approve the minutes
- Andrea Berstler seconds
- All in favor, minutes approved

Treasurer's Report

Carl Olson

Balance Sheet

- Bank Balances ended at \$257,239.76, almost 100% higher from this time last year. This reflects the expanded scale of operations.Included in that is a reconciliation discrepancy of \$430.
- Accounts receivable stands at \$3,695, reflecting activity picking up again
- Long term reserves ended April at \$139,101.19
- Total Current Assets came in at \$400,035.95
- Long term liabilities are negligable at .33
- Retained earnings came in at \$252,120.31
- Net Income stands at \$147,916.35 over \$43,736.44 from last year, an increase of 238.2%
- Total Liabilities and Equity are at \$400,035.95, an increase of 48.75%
- Mike motions to approve the treasurer's report for audit. Mary Hastler seconds. All in favor, motion passes

Nominations and Elections Committee Report

Andrea Berstler

- MLA Vice President/President: Michelle Hamiel
- MLA Secretary: Conni Strittmatter
- ACRL-MD Pres/Pres Elect: Biranna Hughes
- ACRL-MD Secretary: Alex Dodd
- CSD Pre/Pres Elect: Katelyn McLimans
- CSD Secretary: Karen Earp
- LDD Pres/Pres Elect: Rachel Miller

- LDD Secretary: Kalyn Shields
- PSD Pres/Pres Elect: Melissa Lauber
- PSD Secretary: Tina Pickens
- SSD Pres/Pres Elect: Teonja Jung
- SSD Secretary: Gabriel Jones

2022 Annual Conference Committee Report

Megan Sutherland

- A total of 510 attendees exceeded our expectations
- Please fill out the conference survey, which will be in your email. It will help us improve next year
- Thanks to Kelsey Hughes, the Conference Co-Chair
- Thanks to all the conference committee for the amazing services and social events
- Thanks to Jennifer Jones and Amy Miller Meyers for the Sched app and website
- Thanks to BCMLA for the meet and greet and tour of Harriet Tubman museum
- Thanks to the MLA staff. Kate Monagan has been the consistency throughout the years
- Thanks to Ryan O'Grady and Josh Stone for leading MLA during this time

2023 Annual Conference Committee Announcements

Kelsey Hughes

- This conference has been educationally rejuvenating
- If you want to be a part of the 2023 conference committee, email Kelsey Hughes to get involved. There are plenty of ways to get involved at a variety of commitment levels
- Anita Crawford will be the co-chair for 2023

President's Report

Mary Anne Bowman

- This year has been great, but hard
- Goals of Mary Anne's presidency were:
 - o to hire and on-board a new Executive Director
 - o formalize the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Panel, Ashley Teagle will be the first official
 - o finalize the membership of the Black Caucus of the Maryland Library Association in MLA
 - o move forward with a new strategic plan, which did not happen this year
 - o advocate for funding and support
- Thanks to the Executive Board and Steering Committee
- Please get involved and run for office in the future

Passing of the Gavel

 As Mary Anne passed the gavel, she announced Nay's "Mover and Shaker" award from Library Journal

Vice President Elect's Report

Nay Keppler

 Thanks to Mary Anne, Ryan O'Grady, and Josh Stone for taking charge of the organization in a time of crisis

- Nay's goals for her presidency:
 - Update strategic plan
 - o Plan & implement year-long centennial celebration
 - Update membership dues structure
 - Continue to plan activities and trainings
 - Advocate for funding and support
 - Plan & implement marketing and outreach initiatives for members recruitment and retention to diversify membership, particularly from students, support staff, and BIPOC library staff

New Business

Bylaws Vote

- Thanks to the bylaws team: Nay Keppler, Kari Kelly, Kris Buker, Mike Kiel, Joe Thompson, and Laura Bandoch
- Changes included
 - o Adding new advisory panel
 - Defining new MLA unit
 - Information clarity and organization
 - Grounds for removal
 - o Executive director details
- Errors fixed prior to vote:
 - o Article IV, Section 6, Part b changed "standing committee" to "ad hoc committee"
 - Article VII, Section 3, Part b changed "unit elected officer" to "advisory committee"
- Irene Padilla motions to approve
- Laura Bandoch seconds
- All in favor, bylaws approved

Black Caucus of the Maryland Library Association

• The BCMLA is now official

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Panel

• The EDI Panel is now official

MLA Centennial

2023 is the centennial for the creation of MLA. We will celebrate starting November 2022

Awards: Debby Bennett

- Distinguished Service Award Senator Sarah Elfreth and Delegate Eric Ebersole (2 winners)
- Honorary Membership Wesley Wilson
- Outstanding Member Michelle Hamiel & Morgan Miller (2 winners)
- Outstanding Volunteer Carolyn Guy, Andrea & Michael Pugh, and Wanda Sherriff (3 winners)
- William Wilson Maryland Author Award Aafa Michael Weaver
- Outstanding Paraprofessional Connie Trent
- President's Customer Service Award Rachel Myers and staff of AACPL's Discoveries: The Library at the Mall
- The Margaret Carty Emerging Leader Award Anita Crawford

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 9:05